OpenBSD 4 Installed in 20 Minutes

Publicado: novembro 22, 2007 em OpenBSD


After reading a post on Command Line Warriors I decided to try the OpenBSD 4.0 installation. My third attempt was successful. The first one I spent trying to figure out their fdisk utility and finally had to quit and give it a fresh go. The second worked fine but I needed another go in order to get clean screen shots as I made a few mistakes.

Note: Using the steps below will destroy any data on your disk. Use a spare.

Note: If you would like to read it or run into problems, here is the the official documentation for OpenBSD 4.0 on a i386.

  1. Getting the installation ISO. Find an OpenBSD mirror to download the installation environment. The file is
    called cd40.iso.
  2. It will start booting in a few seconds (or I believe you can press enter).Install cd boot prompt
  3. (I)nstall, (U)pgrade, or just get a (S)hell.(I)nstall, (U)pgrade, or just get a (S)hell
  4. Terminal type. I used the default.Terminal type, press enter
  5. Set keymap.
    Choose us for US keymapping
  6. Are you sure? Yes.
    Are you sure?
  7. Which disk? I only had one so I pressed enter. Do you want to use the entire disk? Yes. This creates a whole disk
    OpenBSD “slice” which you will make into partitions in the next step.Which disk? Use default
  8. This is the tricky part. It puts you into an odd fdisk (for non BSD users). The options are NOT the same as Linux or Windows fdisk. The p command prints the current drive configuration. Basically you DO NOT want to delete the c partition. Its the whole disk slice which was created in the step above.Press p to print the configuration
  9. Delete everything but the c partition with the d command.
  10. Create a new partition with the a command. It will then ask you for the name, offset, size, type, and mount point. Leave the name and offset as the default. You need to leave some space for swap so I used 3GB of my 4GB disk. You can use M to specify Megabytes. Thus 3GB is 3000M. It then conveniently assumes you want the BSD filesystem type. Choose / as your mount point. Now we have to create the swap partition. Its more of the same. Just press a and use the defaults. I am running this through VMWare so I chose a large swap partition.Creating the root and swap partitions
  11. Once the disks are setup press q to quit and then confirm.Press q to quit and then confirm
  12. The next screen is the network options. I chose thirdtry as my hostname and dhcp as my method of obtaining my ipaddress otherwise I just used the defaults.Network options, I chose dhcp
  13. Enter the root password and confirmChoose a root password
  14. If your following these instructions choose http as the location of the sets and then type yes to display the list of known http servers:
    Choose http and yes to display a list of servers
  15. Your in more so press the space bar to see the next page. The US servers are at the bottom.Find a mirror near you
  16. Choose a mirror near your location and accept the default server directory.Choose a mirror and accept the default server directory
  17. Are you ready? Yes.
    Are you ready to install OpenBSD 4.0?
  18. Installing!
    OpenBSD is installing
  19. Once the download is complete it will ask you again for the location of the sets. This is for extra packages such as X. I chose the default of done and did not install any extra packages.Location of sets again, this is for extra packages. Press enter
  20. Choose the the defaults except for timezone.Choose the the defaults except for timezone
  21. Can it really be installed?Is it really installed
  22. Type halt and then reboot.Type halt and then reboot
  23. Congratulations you have just installed OpenBSD!Congratulations OpenBSD has been installed

Deixe uma resposta

